NZ Business Achievement Awards

The  New Zealand Business Achievement Awards are a stepping stone towards the more comprehensive NZ Business Excellence Awards which are the pinnacle of business awards programmes in New Zealand.

The Business Achievement Awards are based around the Baldrige Excellence Builder which is a simplified and less detailed version of the Baldrige Excellence Framework. As such, these awards are ideal for SME’s, or for larger organisations to use it as an opportunity for a starting point in their journey towards business improvement.

Who can enter the NZ Business Achievement Awards?

The NZ Business Achievement Awards are open to all private, public and non-profit organisations or sub-units of organisations. 
Applicants are generally already members of NZ Business Excellence– to take advantage of the training benefits and discounts available – however this is not mandatory.

If you are interested in applying for this award, give us a call first to discuss your options with us, so that we can understand where your organisation is at, and advise on a plan towards application. Phone us on 09 489 8791 or contact us.


What are the benefits in applying?

Other than taking a stepping stone towards becoming a “world-class” organisation, a key motivation in entering the awards programs is the comprehensive feedback report the applicant receives.

This report outlines the strengths and opportunities for improvement. A debrief of the report and action going forward is also discussed. In addition, applicants are provided with a score showing their current performance against the business excellence framework, which is benchmarked against other applicants.


How does an organisation apply?

Contact us on 09 489 8791 who will discuss your application and email you an information booklet on the application process. Alternatively email us and we will contact you at an appropriate time.

Mentors are available to offer support and guidance to the Applicant in preparing the application document. Mentors are selected from senior past evaluators.


How is the NZ Business Achievement Awards programme assessed?

All applications are evaluated by a team of experienced and fully trained National Evaluators, using a similar process to the prestigious US National Malcolm Baldrige Awards Program (an internationally-recognised and respected performance excellence awards program). Evaluators are usually selected from within the trained business excellence evaluator community. Evaluators are selected, by NZ Business Excellence, to ensure a balanced range of skills and expertise for each evaluation team.

A team of Evaluators will be assigned to your application and will review your Award application. From here they will come together in a Consensus meeting to agree on their findings. They will be accompanied by an Observer to ensure the team remains true to the Award evaluation process and ensures a fair process. Observers are selected from senior past evaluators.

At the conclusion of the consensus meeting, the team will submit a Consensus Feedback Report to the NZ Business Excellence CEO. Subject to their findings, the NZ Business Excellence CEO, in consultation with the Applicant, will decide whether to proceed to site visit to verify the application, of which the Observer will also attend. A Mentor can be made available to offer assistance and guidance to the Applicant in preparing for a site visit.


How are Award recipients selected?

Once the evaluation process is completed, the Evaluator team will prepare a final feedback report which will be submitted to a convened Panel of Judges. The Judging panel comprise of NZ Business Excellence Board members and other appropriate leaders from business and government organisations. 

The Judging panel will determine if an Applicant is to receive an Award (based on the robust and mature scoring system within the Baldrige Excellence Framework for the abridged criteria) and if so, what level of Award will be presented.

Who are some prior award winners?

Click here to view a list of prior award winners. Members of NZ Business Excellence also have access to our Knowledge Base, which includes examples of prior Award-Winning applications from New Zealand and around the world.


What is the difference between the NZ Business Achievement Awards and the

NZ Business Excellence Awards?

The NZ Business Achievement Awards are based on the Baldrige Excellence Builder which is based on the more detailed Baldrige Excellence Framework. The NZ Business Excellence Awards are the pinnacle of business awards, using the comprehensive Baldrige Excellence Framework and the associated full criteria of reflective questions.

Organisations that achieve superior results from the regional and sector Business Awards are encouraged to submit an application for the Business Achievement Awards due to the natural progression, and then can choose to progress through to the Business Excellent Awards.


What is the investment cost in applying for the NZ Business Achievement Award?

The application fee in 2016 is $5,000 +GST for NZ Business Excellence members. Non-members should contact us before applying.

All applicants will also be required to cover any additional costs associated with the consensus meeting – where the evaluator team comes together to produce a collective agreement of their evaluation findings, alongside possible areas that need to be explored via a site visit. Additionally, applicants will be cover any costs associated with a site visit, if required.

The Foundation will be able to provide an estimate of these additional costs once the application process is underway.


Want more information?

Phone us on 09 489 8791 or contact us and we will be happy to answer any questions you may have. 

New Zealand Business Excellence Foundation would like to thank the following organisations for their support 


New Zealand Business Excellence Foundation
PO Box 331-658 Takapuna 0740

Phone: (09) 489 8791
GM: Ian Ris

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
Email Format
Copyright © 2014 New Zealand Business Excellence Foundation
Powered by